June 2020 primary:

Candidate & ballot process info

Ballots for the June 30 primary election have been mailed to registered voters. This election will be for all state and Congressional races (but not the presidential race). Click here to see an image of the Garfield County ballot.


Information about the candidates 

US Senate candidates (running to unseat Cory Gardner):
Andrew Romanoff -- Romanoff video -- Romanoff website
John Hickenlooper -- Hickenlooper video -- Hickenlooper website


US Representative candidates (running to unseat Scott Tipton):
James Iacino -- Iacino video -- Iacino website
Diane Mitsch Bush -- Mitsch Bush video -- Mitsch Bush website


Colorado State Board of Education candidate (running to unseat Joyce Rankin):
Mayling Simpson -- Simpson video -- Simpson website


State Senate SD8 (running to unseat Bob Rankin):
Karl Hanlon -- Hanlon video -- Hanlon website
Arn Menconi -- Menconi video -- Menconi website


State House HD 57 (running to unseat Perry Will):
Colin Wilhelm -- Wilhelm video -- Wilhelm website


Garfield County Commissioner District 2 (running to unseat John Martin):
Katrina Byars -- Byars Facebook page -- 
Byars email


Garfield County Commissioner District 3 (running to unseat Mike Samson):
Leslie Robinson -- Robinson Facebook page -- Robinson email


Information about the primary election process

If you are an Unaffiliated voter, you'll receive the primary ballots for both parties, but you can only return one ballot. If you fill out and return both the Democratic and Republican primary ballots, neither one will be counted.

Ballots must be received by the County Clerk by 7 pm on Tuesday, June 30. Ballots can be dropped off at the sites listed below. If you choose to mail your ballot, be sure to affix sufficient postage and drop it in the mail by June 24 to be sure it arrives at the County Clerk's office by June 30.

Ballot drop-off sites where ballots may be dropped off 24/7 through 7 pm on June 30:

  • Rifle: Entrance of Garfield County Admin Building at 195 W 14th Street, Building D

  • Glenwood Springs: Eighth St. drop-off box at the Garfield County Courthouse

  • Carbondale: Entrance of Carbondale Town Hall Building at 511 Colorado Ave.

For information on additional drop-off sites and polling centers, visit Garfield County Voter Service & Polling Centers.

To see a sample ballot click here: Sample ballot

Garfield County Democrats
PO Box 2637
Glenwood Springs, CO 81602